Higher Education Institutions in Norway

Norway has many higher education institutions offering high quality education and research

There are four main categories of institutions providing Higher Education in Norway:

  1. Universities
  2. Specialised Universities
  3. University Colleges/Universities of Applied Sciences
  4. University Colleges with accredited study programmes

Universities have the right to establish programmes at all levels, while the other categories rely on NOKUT (The Norwegian Agency for Quality Assurance in Education) for accreditation of certain levels and programmes. 

You can read more about the institutional categories at NOKUTS overview of Higher Education Institutions.




Specialised Universities:


University Colleges/ Universities of Applied Sciences:


University Colleges with accredited study programmes:

Note: some of these only have Norwegian names and websites